Records show that a school building made of vertical slab walls and a bark roof and lined with bark was built for Dr. Henry Backhaus at Kangaroo Flat in 1860.
Pupils attended under the care of a Miss. Wall 1859-1860. This bark school is believed to have been situated within the boundary of the present school grounds. The original Church built at St. Monica's in 1864 was used as a Church School. This building was constructed from bricks fired in the open from clay obtained from the present school oval area. The moulding and firing of these bricks was a unique process..